Runners Tell All: Lone Ranger


SO excited to link up with Amanda and Beka again for Runner’s Tell All – a monthly link-up with set topics on the 21st of each month.  This month’s topic is how you run or with whom you run.  Well, let me let you in on a little secret…I secretly HATE running with (most) other people.  And my attitude is season dependent.

The only acceptable large group of runners, in my book.

 

Summer:
I need any and all motivation to get my butt out the door.  Therefore, I need accountability buddies (or a scheduled race) to motivate me to get moving.  I don’t care how slow we are going, I am just getting miles in to stay fit and loosely train for any early fall races. This is the season where I am most relaxed in terms of running.

 

Fall:
My tolerance for others decreases dramatically.  During the fall while coaching, I really enjoy running with my athletes.  I think they’re hilarious and I typically learn a great deal about them, myself, and running as a whole when seeing it through the eyes of my middle school or high school athletes.  But, once that weekend rolls around, my long run is for ME.  Seriously, leave me alone.   I talk to 200+ people everyday all week, let me listen to Blink 182 or Bastille and have it be me and trail in front of me.   Typically, this is the time of year that is beautiful running weather and now I am running for time/pace/whatever so that my late fall race will be a PR.

#tbt Running does a body good, y'all.

#tbt Running does a body good, y’all.

Winter: 
My attitude goes down the toilet post-season and all I want is for the fall weather to last foooorrrrreeeeevvvveeeeerrrr.  But once that first snow hits (and sticks), I need an accountability buddy again and will force a friend to use treadmills with me.

 

Spring: 
See fall, but without coaching.  I’m usually pretty motivated to get out and workout because I have my spring debut race.

 

There are, however, two people I really enjoyed running with – Chris (no duh) and my old head cross country coach.  Honestly?  It’s because they pushed me, consciously and subconsciously, to be a better athlete and person.

summerfestrace

And they’re willing to take selfies with me…duh.

At our New Teacher week activities, one of my interesting facts was that I love running.  And when my partner asked, “WHY?!” My response was that I love eating.  While that’s a pretty big reason (no seriously, you guys, I really love eating), it’s also my time to be by myself, reflect on my day, and be in the right state of mind so I can be a good teacher, spouse, daughter and friend.

 

And the eating thing is pretty good too.

 

Whom do you like to train with or are you also a “lone ranger”?

8 thoughts on “Runners Tell All: Lone Ranger

  1. I can understand that if you’re with tons of people all day, that running alone would be delightful. Since you’ve already read my post, you know that I’m a social runner, but like running with my hubby most!

  2. I love that you are a seasonal social runner! However, I’m sure if I coached and were around so many people too I’d appreciate the solo runs much more. Thanks for sharing your story with us on Runners Tell All!

  3. Over the past few years my need for accountability has begun to feel seasonal. I am least motivated in winter; most motivated late spring through early fall. It’s great that you’ve found a rhythm of social/accountability running that works for you!

  4. Pingback: High Five for Friday | Ashley {in MKE}

  5. First of all, your running selfie is way better than mine! No fair 🙂
    Also, this makes perfect sense to me! This summer I have seriously had the hardest time dragging myself out the door. I could have used some accountability this summer for running. I also need to sign up for a dang race! Sheesh. I haven’t run one since a 5k in APRIL. Omg. This is terrible.

  6. I’m also kind of a ‘Lone Ranger’. I’m not a big fan of large groups unless it’s part of a race (and sometimes not even then, depending on my mood when I wake up in the morning). I do most of my weekly running solo. I have a friend I meet up with on the weekends for long runs. She had a baby about 8 months ago, and I’m training for a fall marathon. So right now we meet on Saturdays for a shorter/mid-distance run and then I do my long run solo on Sundays. Having a race on the calendar definitely helps you get through the less favorable weather!

  7. I totally get your reasoning behind running partners being season dependent. Also, I love your choice of Blink 182 to run to. 🙂 I am usually a solo runner, but I have been doing the group thing recently. I am going to run with someone while training for my next race so I am excited to see how it changes things (if it does)!

  8. Yep, I run for my health, alone time, and to contemplate life—but mainly I run for food. As a nutritionist, I basically spend my entire day trying not to drool as clients tell me about all of the delicious unhealthy foods that they eat. After I spend all of my work time thinking about food, I spend my free time trying to find food to eat. For me and my love of food, running is mandatory and will probably always be a part of my life. Ha!

Leave a Reply

