Gluten Free S’Mores Pie

Happy Monday, y’all!  I hope you had a great Easter weekend (or just a great weekend) surrounded by loved ones!

 

A long, long time ago in a galaxy far, far away when my cooking skills were still very much sub-par, I was dating Chris.  Like, freshly dating.  Like, within three months.  And, I, the genius that I was/am, decided to make him dessert to celebrate the end of finals week.

gfsmorespie2

Did I mention that I was in a terrible rental kitchen with no discernible cooking skills?

 

Oh good.  Just wanted to make sure that we were all on the same page.

gfsmorespie1

 

Anyways.  This was PP (pre-Pinterest) so I honestly have zero recollection on how I found the recipe for a S’Mores pie that was no-bake and only required minimum ingredients.  I’m sure my random find of a pre-made graham cracker pie crust was a huge part of this decision, though.  At the time, I was astonished – they make pre-made pie crusts?!

 

Oh, 21-year-old Ashley.  You had so much to learn.

 

About a month ago, I was perusing the gluten-free aisle at the fancy Hy-Vee when I came across (*gasp*) a gluten-free pre-made graham cracker crust.  Shut.the.front.door.  I had only attempted making my own GF graham cracker crust and it was, to say the least, an epic failure.

 

gfsmorespieingredients

 

It took me a month of convincing myself, but I bring you Gluten-Free S’Mores pie.  This ish is, for sure, not low-calorie, not vegan, and is basically all-sugar.  But it IS no-bake, has only four (4!!) ingredients, and is a cinch to prep.

 

#glutenfree S'Mores Pie | Ashley {in MKE}{Prep Time}: 10 minutes || Total Time: 4+ hours
{Ingredients}: 1 GF pre-made graham cracker crust || 1 cup milk of choice || 1-1o.5 oz bag chocolate chips || 0.75 – 1-package of mini-mallows

 

{Directions}:

(1) Remove lid from pie crust (obviously very important)

(2) In a large-ish soup pot, combine milk, chocolate chips and marshmallows over low heat.  Continuously (and slowly) stir until the components are melted together.

(3) Pour in chocolate-mallow mixture into pie crust.

(4) Chill in the fridge for 4+ hours.  Put the lid back on it so sneaky husbands/roommates/you don’t go tasting it before it’s ready.

 

Some important notes here —

  • This makes a TON of chocolate-mallow mix.  So, what I like to do is pour it in small decorative bowls for a play on chocolate mousse/pudding.  Or, you can reduce the amount of ingredients.

gfsmorespie3

 

 

  • I used a whole bag of mallows, but I think you could get away for using a bit less.  The pie itself was perfect and held together, but I’m sure you could have it be a bit less gelatinous.

gfsmorespie4

 

Enjoy!

 

xo

Leave a Reply

