Weekly Workouts

I feel like I just wrote last week’s workout recap, but here we are again!

 

Week 4 went much better than either weeks 2 or 3.  Why??  Because I got all of the miles in AND made up one mile from last week (only 4 more to go!) I’m hoping I can keep up the momentum!

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 6.19.30 AM

 

Monday – 6 x 400 Repeats

I have a serious love/hate relationship with these.  Like I’ve said before, they’re great for my short attention span on the treadmill, but by the 5th or 6th one, I am so freaking tired.  There were also new co-workers in the fitness room while I was doing these and I’m 100% sure they thought I was crazy solely based on what I was doing on the treadmill.

Tuesday – Easy 3

Took this nice and slow-ish, but also wanted to get it done!

Wednesday – 5.19 miles (outside!)

WOO!  A day above 15 degrees!  I celebrated by running a little over 5 miles in the snow.

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred

I was planning on doing an easy 3 on Friday but got distracted by grading after school.  Then, after taking almost twice as long to get home, I was *thisclose* to having a panic attach when I saw C.  He kindly offered to go to the store while I did a Jillian Michaels workout.  Being that this was my first JM workout, I was all like, “Yeah, forget Level 1, I’m fit! Level 2! Woo!”

I think I died.

Starting on Level 2 of the 30 day shred was a terrible decision.  I have zero arm muscles.  Literally, none.  All my muscle mass is concentrated in my legs.  The cardio wasn’t the hard part, it was the squat/lift combos that I was begging for mercy.  And after the workout, I had very little use of my arms.  OK, only slightly dramatic, but lifting my arms was not fun.

I will definitely be moving down to Level 1 this week.

Saturday – 3.73 miles (outside!)

Decided to get a short run in post-lunch, but before 2-3 inches of snow fell.  When is winter supposed to end?

Sunday – 9.1 miles (treadmill)

Based on the snow from Saturday, I mentally prepared myself for a 9 mile run on the treadmill for Sunday.  By splitting it up into 3 x 3 miles, I was actually able to complete the run.  Amanda has some great suggestions for running the long run on the ol ‘mill.  Mostly to take it slow because anything over 3-4 miles on that machine is torture.

This week, I need to get in a 35 minute tempo run, 2 3-4 mile easy runs, a midweek 5 miler, and a long run of 10 miles this weekend.  Oh, and some more JM action (on Level 1 this time).

How were your workouts this week?  Have you ever wanted a workout video to end so badly?

xo

5 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts

  1. Solid week! Congrats! The Shred is no joke. I’m thinking about bringing it back for the whole “post-baby” strength I need:) Thanks for posting the treadmill tips, too. Since my workouts revolve around a baby, I am married to the ‘mill until the weather turns!

Leave a Reply

