Weekly Workouts

aka: Illinois Half-Marathon Training – Week 3 or “No, you’re not seeing double. I just haven’t posted in a week.”

 

Week 3 did not go as planned.  Which is really unfortunate, because I hate having weeks like so early in the training.  Here’s the recap:

Screen Shot 2014-02-09 at 7.19.13 PM

 

Monday – 30 minute tempo run

I’m pretty sure I’m still not doing these correctly.  I ran an easy 5 minutes and then a hard 20 minutes followed by an easy 5 minutes.  Actually, the lights turned off in the fitness room, so I had to stop the clock (so frustrating!) at 22 minutes elapsed time and start over.  Seriously, how do you do a tempo run?  Is it like a pyramid workout, or do I go up to a hard speed for the time I’m not warming up or cooling down?  Anyways, total mileage was 3.6 miles in 30 minutes.

Tuesday – Rest

I wanted to get my sorry butt home before the blizzard happened.  And, then we went to a basketball game.  Go Hawks!  (They lost.)

Wednesday – 5 mile medium run

No school!  I guess 3-6 inches with medium-strong winds is enough to get us cancelled.  So, I ran to the gym in fresh-ish powder, did 3 miles at race pace, and ran home.  Oh, and tried to not get hit by a car because college students are idiots and were trying to drive in the snow.

Thursday – Rest

Hubby and I went to a gluten free baking class!  It was really rather fun.  Although we weren’t actually the ones baking, I really enjoyed eating the product when the instructor was done.

Friday – Easy 3 miles

I really like how on Fridays we can leave at 3pm and I still don’t mosey on to the workout room until 4.  (I’m not entirely sure how or where the time goes).  Luckily for me, my friend, Meg, was waiting for me and we worked out together.  Hooray accountability buddies!  Later that night, C & I went to his friend’s house for an Olympic Opening Ceremony party.  (PS: Germany – the 80’s called, they want their neon back.  #woof)

Saturday – Rest (dammit)

I had every intention of going to the gym on Saturday.  Instead, I took our car in for service (7:30am appointment for the win!) and went shopping with my friend Mary.  And then sat on the couch and “meal-planned” (read: surfed Pinterest).  I figured out I had a bladder infection on Friday afternoon post-workout (TMI, sorry) and totally used that as my excuse while I took an antibiotic.

Sunday – Long run

You know when weather.com says that it feels like -8 degrees that you probably shouldn’t, you know, run outside.  But, (1) I’m an idiot and (2) I’m an idiot.  I planned a glorious 10 mile run even though I only needed to do 8 miles.  In reality, I only did 6 because I’m pretty sure I was going to die.  It was the hardest six miles I have run in my life.  My body was basically laughing at me.

I have been eating like crap (“I’m training for my 5th half marathon…I totally know what I’m doing,” she says as she piles in more M&M’s).  In addition, my water intake during school hours this week has been fairly low.  This is the week where I start eating better!

I’ve also been noticing more and more that my grand plans of cross-training aren’t happening.  Like, at all.  As much I want to go to Yoga, (1) I don’t want to go by myself, (2) I don’t want to pay up the wazoo to go and (3) the times don’t work for me.  My solution?  For $9.67 + tax, I bought Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.  After posting it on Instagram, I’m really excited to use the different levels for cross-training in the privacy and comfort of my living room.  Let’s see how long this lasts, shall we?

Next week’s running goals:: 6 x 400 repeats, 2 3-4 mile easy runs, 5 mile mid-week pace run and a long run of 9 miles.  Also, some JM action.

How did your training go this week?

xo

Leave a Reply

