Weekly Workouts

 

 

aka: Week 2 of Illinois Half-Marathon Training
Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 5.26.10 PM

 

Last week’s mileage got done (ok, you caught me, I’m 0.13 miles short), but in a very unique way.  Meaning not the way I’m supposed to…at all.

 

Monday – 5 x 400 Repeats

I think I’ve found my new favorite workout.  400 meter repeats (on the treadmill) are perfect for my super short attention span.  I did a mile warm-up at 9 min/mile pace and then repeats at 7:13 min/mile pace with 400 of 9 min/mile pace in between.  At the end, I did a 1 mile cool-down at 9 min/mile.  Total mileage – 4.5 miles.

Tuesday – Pace Run

I intended to run 5 miles with 4 of them at race pace.  I start with a 0.5 mile warm-up and ended up getting 3.5 miles in at race pace (8:13 min/mile) before I realized I needed to stop.  I finished up with a 0.5 mile cool-down.  Total mileage – 4.5 miles

Wednesday – Friday — Forced Rest

Digestive issues followed by migraines and a sore throat.  Awesome.

Saturday – 5.87 miles

Woke up feeling much better (thank goodness) and wanted to “make up” some miles from Wednesday & Friday.  I got in 5.87 miles instead of 6, but it was a pretty solid run considering it was in 2.5 inches of fresh powder.  My hip flexors are NOT happy with me.

Sunday – 7.5 mile long run

Last week’s long run was difficult and I’m not entirely sure why.  To be honest, I haven’t been sticking to solid nutrition (have been hitting the cheese a little too much lately, for example) and running 7.5 miles after Saturday’s snow-run was probably a stupid decision.  But, it had to be done and it was done.  So, while I feel accomplished, I’m sure DOMS will set in at the most inopportune time.  As always.

Next week, I have a 30 minute tempo run, a pace run, 2 easy 3 milers and a long run of 8 miles to complete.  I’m also hoping to get to a yoga or crossfit class to cross train.

One of my 2014 goals was to run 4-5 official half-marathons.  I’m already registered for two and I’m flirting with registering for the Chicago Half-Marathon and the Monster Dash Half-Marathon (also in Chicago).

How were your workouts last week?  Has anyone ever run the Chicago and/or Monster Dash Half-Marathon?

xo

8 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts

    • Haha, thanks. It’s the lesser of two evils sometimes. I’m dying a little on the inside from being on the treadmill so much.

  1. Dang, girl – you are fast! Nice training week! And thanks for the treadmill name suggestion – Betha, it is! 🙂 I haven’t run the Chicago half or Monster Dash but I have heard great things! It’s funny – the half-marathons I’ve run have all been outside of Chicago with the exception of my first one, the Chicago Distance Classic (which is now the Rock & Roll half).

    • Yes! Love how you took the name. I’m excited about the two possible Chicago races and probably (just maybe) should register soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

