Shoe Snob

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always tried to figure out someone’s personality by their footwear.  I mean, think about it… What you wear says a lot about you, but none so much as what you put on your feet.

 

Throughout my (short-ish) teaching career, I’ve gone from heels (oh god, never again) to ballet flats, TOMS, and boat shoes.  But, there are two major flaws with my current choice in foot wear:

  1. I never remember to wear socks (yeah, gross, I know).
  2. They are not the most supportive footwear.

 

People, I stand all day.  Even when I make a conscious decision to sit for 2 minutes, I am always up and making laps around the classroom to check in on students.  I naturally need supportive footwear.  But, I want them to be cute too.  (Side note: Teenagers care a lot about you wear and they notice everything.  God forbid you get a haircut.)  So, imagine my delight when I read this article from Carly about how pairing cute runnies with dressier outfits is gaining momentum.  Check out this look from J.Crew:

 

The sneakers are so subtle and the look can easily be recreated.  I would probably don a pair of white chucks with this particular outfit.

 

Naturally, this trend can’t be recreated in all areas of work (like most office jobs).  But, in my line of work where business casual rules all, this trend is a blessing.  My top choices are…

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 9.00.00 AM

{White Chucks}

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 9.00.24 AM

{New Balance Classics}

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 9.01.19 AM

 

{Puma Flats}

As you can probably tell, I would play this trend super safe.  I would probably go for some more colorful ones later once I determined the culture of a building, but again, cute comfy shoes FTW.

What do you think of this trend?  Do you think it will last?  Would you ever participate? If you’re looking for some inspiration, this article has some great styling tips too.

xoxo

One thought on “Shoe Snob

  1. Awesome ideas! I also constantly wear ballet flats and boat shoes in the summer, and Ugg boots in the winter (I’m outside a lot) and I’m on my feel alllll day so my feet are usually pretty mad at me. Great idea about sneakers at work!

Leave a Reply

