Weekly Workouts – 12.30-01.05

Alternative title: Easing back into it.

 

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 4.19.14 PM

 

I have a really bad (read: neurotic, type-a) habit of not counting miles that I’ve walked or done on the elliptical.  Oh no, only completely recording running mileage for this girl!  So, this week was full of walking to the gym, mostly cross-training, and a smidgen of running.  In our current place, we are only a mile from the nice campus gym, so walking to and from the gym gives me some time to reflect on what I want to do and revel in the fact that I look like a grungy snowman in grody sweat pants and my big parka.

 

On Monday, I walked to the gym and did 30 minutes on the elliptical.  I hate the elliptical.  But, it does give me a chance to watch cable (Keeping Up with the Kardashian’s!)…so there’s that.   On the last day of 2013, I decided to make a solid effort and I tried to put in 3 miles on the treadmill.  I guess everyone else in Iowa City decided to have the same idea so the gym was packed (and hot) and I was pretty pooped, so it was not a very good run.  On Wednesday, I wanted to start 2014 out the right way and walked to the gym and did an hour (!!) of cross training by doing 30 minutes on the elliptical and 30 minutes on the stair stepper.  Have you ever gone up sideways on the stairstepper?  It’s a great workout for your glutes.  My butt is still a bit sore.

 

On Thursday, I went up to school and stayed way longer than I intended, so working out at the building’s fitness center wasn’t so much a priority as getting my classroom organized for the end of winter break (jokes on me though, school was cancelled today).  I also started taking iron supplements that day and didn’t really want to push my luck.  Friday brought my first run of the new year and it felt amazing!  I did an easy-ish 4 miles on the treadmill and didn’t want to kick it when I got off.  Go me!  On Saturday, it was 31 degrees – balmy!  C and I made the decision to run outside.  He wore shorts, because he is insane.  I wore capris because I am only a little less insane.  Here’s the deal people (I’m looking at you Southerners), when it’s been single or negative temps for weeks, getting up to freezing feels fan-effing-tastic.  Found a new way to get home from the Iowa River Trail and was pleased as punch.  So, I had a cupcake to celebrate later.  Oh, Sunday…the day before the “arctic vortex” was supposed to come roaring through the state.  C and I went to the gym and I ran a quick 3 miles to shake out the outdoor run followed by lifting and ab work.

 

My plan for this upcoming week is…

Monday (Today)– Rest.  You couldn’t pay me enough money to leave my house, y’all.  The high is supposed to be negative 10 degrees today.  Yes, you read that right….the HIGH temperature is in the negatives.

Tuesday – Crossfit at the High School – free classes for the win!

Wednesday – Run

Thursday – Run

Friday – Crossfit at the HS. Maybe run before?  Not sure yet.

Saturday/Sunday – 5 mile run and rest (depends on weather)

This, as always, is subject to change depending on how my body feels.  One thing I’m going to do in 2014 is be more aware of me.  I really don’t want to get injured, especially with all the races I have planned this year!

What’s your plan this week?

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts – 12.30-01.05

  1. My plan was to start today! But with this weather I was unable to get back to school and start my new year work out. At home work out it is for me! I love that you keep track and plan for the week ahead. What app do you use? I need some good ones to really keep track of things.

    xo. Kailagh

    • I use Daily Mile to track my workouts (I’m obsessed). They also have a phone app called Electric Miles that syncs with the web based program, which makes my life super easy. I’ll input my workout during the cool down phase on a machine or right when I get home from an outdoor run. For at home workouts, I love surfing Pinterest…and then I’ll find a muffin recipe so it all balances out. 🙂

      xoxo

  2. I was supposed to do my first weights class, but it was negative 15, and you would get a ticket if you were caught on the roads. 😦 Hoping to get back into it on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

