Black Bean Soup (GF, DF)

Christmas was good to us this year.  C and I picked thoughtful and useful gifts for the other person and we received some really nice gifts from C’s parents including my newest most prized possession – a K10 Mini Plus Keurig for my classroom…those poor kids, haha. 🙂

 

A gift that took the cake though was this…

photo 1 (1)

Though, the great irony is that the nearest TJ is two hours away.

Frankly, if it wasn’t for Pinterest, we wouldn’t eat new things, so I am always on the look out for new, easy recipes.  This cookbook combines my crush on Trader Joes and my food allergy with short ingredient lists and healthy shortcuts.

A few nights ago, I made their Seafood Paella recipe with some modifications (saffron is, no joke, $10 per bottle) and last night, I made their black bean soup.  Holy cow, this was delicious.  It was the perfect blend of spices and flavors and was super filling.  I only made one modification in that I added a tablespoon of fresh cilantro while the soup was simmering.  I served mini quesadillas (complete with salsa & guac, natch) just in case, but we definitely didn’t need them to feel full.

photo 2 (1)

iPhone photo for the win!

Also, have you heard of Pop & Cook frozen spices?  I remember reading about them on some blog (sorry I can’t remember it!) and then as I was purusing the aisles at the local Wal-Mart, I saw them in the frozen vegetable section.  This?  Is the lazy (& frugal) cook’s life saver.  I’m notorious for buying fresh spices and using them in a couple of recipes, but then the rest goes to waste, which makes me really sad.  In the soup recipe above, I used three cubes as one cube is equal to one teaspoon of fresh herb.  So worth the $2 for the product!  I know you can do this on your own, but I take baby steps towards doing a lot of things DIY.

photo 3 (1)

I was in no way sponsored in this post. I just loved the product that much!

Since it’s been so bloody cold out, soup is the only thing that I’ve wanted to make for a few weeks now.  I’m going to make Le French Lentil Soup out of the same cookbook for dinner tonight, I’ll let you know how that goes.

One thought on “Black Bean Soup (GF, DF)

Leave a Reply

