Exhausted

When I was growing up, my mom always told me that October and February were the worst months for students.  There are no breaks and they seem much longer than they actually are.  I agreed with her then and boy do I agree with her now.  This month has simultaneously dragged and been insanely busy.

 

Currently, we’re wrapping up the cross country season.  My middle schoolers did so well and I am so proud of them!  I can’t wait to see how they perform as 8th and 9th graders next year.  The high school team has their divisional meet this afternoon and we have a fighting chance of making it to state as a team, which would be amazing for the seniors (and well, the rest of the team too).  If When we make it to the state meet, there’s one more week of high school practice and then my afternoons are completely free again, so to speak.

 

But, I’ll be honest here… cross country practice has been the best part of my day.  The group of kids I have this year are extremely high-need and I am physically and emotionally exhausted by the time 2:37 rolls around.  Practice has perked me up every day because my 7th and 8th graders were THE.BEST.  Hands down.  I’m nervous that without the high energy jolt of middie girls in the afternoon that I’ll just come home, well, more exhausted than I already do.  Practice has kept me accountable for running, even if it’s low mileage.  Now that the season is winding down, I’m nervous that my intrinsic motivation will be low and I’ll just sit on the couch.

 

 

Last night, the head coach gave me the night off, so to speak.  I stuck around school until 4-something and got home before 5pm.  In our town, there’s a whistle that goes off at 8am, 12pm, 1pm, and 5pm.  When the 5pm whistle blew, I dragged my butt upstairs, got changed, and went out for what I thought would be an easy 3-4 miler while listening to a podcast of “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me!”  It turned into a 5.5-miler and I’m so happy it did.  That run was the perfect reminder of how running has allowed me to grow as a person and mature into a young adult.  When I was done, I felt much more fulfilled and happy and I was able to relax.  (Side note: going to Chipotle for dinner after C’s midterm exam was also helpful).  While I was running, I realized that “my girls” taught me an important lesson this season that I hadn’t learned in over two years of serious running – just get out there and go.  It doesn’t matter if it’s 8 min/mile or 9 min/mile.  It’s not about “getting the miles in” or burning calories.  Running is fun.  Running is good for the soul.  Period.

 

 

On top of the craziness (again) that is teaching, C and I have a lot of possible changes coming up in our life and it is extremely stressful.   I cannot talk about it here (yet) because everything is very much up in the air, but let’s just say that I have a lot of work to do between now and this winter.  (No, we’re not having a baby.)  After book club last weekend, I realized that I need to live more in the moment and not stress about what’s to come in a few-ish months.  Unfortunately, I’m a planner and a problem-solver and there is literally almost nothing I can do to make this situation better except wait patiently (which is also not a strong part of my personality).

 

The name and minor foci of this blog has changed over the year or so that I’ve had it, but it’s core is the same.  I’m trying to grow up and become a mature adult.  Running is definitely a major player in this endeavor.  And also writing is a big part, so I’ll try to do more of this. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Exhausted

  1. I hear you on those busy days, that’s why I’m just now able to read old blog posts. I’m so glad you have enjoyed coaching. I coach a high school dance team and I feel the same way as you. Also glad to hear your running is going well! Looking forward to reading about the possible changes!

Leave a Reply

