Brewers Mini-Marathon Recap

Woo!  My third half-marathon is in the books!

Screen Shot 2013-09-30 at 10.50.09 AM

Monday – 1 mile run along the XC course to report back to the team.

Tuesday & Wednesday – Stood at practice

Thursday – 2 mile easy run with XC girls

Friday – 3.56 mile long run with the M1’s (first year MS XC girls)

Saturday (not sure why it’s showing up on Sunday) – Brewers Mini-Marathon!

racemorning

View of Miller Park via my friend Beth

Milwaukee is my most favorite city in the world and this race is only two years old.  While it’s a great race, it still has some major kinks to work out.  The course passes by loads of Milwaukee landmarks and I studied this diligently:

What I did not study was this:

OUCH.  This was hilly, but the challenge made it much more fun.  I wish I had been able to take pictures during the race, but I super focused (as seen below):

Screen Shot 2013-09-30 at 10.52.33 AM

Post-race official photo:

Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 6.46.15 PM

Thanks to Beth for this photo of C & I.  We are pooped.

c&aracing
Brewers Pros:

  • Fun scenery
  • Tons of aid stations with water & Gatorade
  • Get to run on the field of Miller Park
  • Great tailgate party at the end
  • Unofficial results immediately when you finish
  • Sweet swag & race tech shirt
  • Digital swag bag
  • Starts early
  • Free parking

Brewers Cons:

  • The highway exit line was a mile long and closed at a specific time, which was an issue
  • Need something like Gu in the last half of the race
  • The last 0.2 miles had a hard right turn which caused a bottleneck effect and slowed all the runners down at the end
  • Beer line at the end was too long – needs more vendors
  • Needed the misting stations – 65 & sunny on concrete is like 85 degree conditions

Brewers Conclusion:

All in all, I had a great time and would run it again.

 

 

How were your workouts last week?  Did you race?  Do you have one soon?  Link up with Jen & I!

Coffee & macarons

9 thoughts on “Brewers Mini-Marathon Recap

    • Thanks! I have been a loyal Daily Mile user since 2010. It’s seriously my favorite app for keeping track of my workouts!

  1. my suggestion for the gu issue is to bring your own. i always bring my own gels on long runs and in fact… i bring my own hydration too so i don’t have to bother with the aid stations. i thought this race was awesome! really fun. of course, i didn’t experience the same crowding issues you experienced so maybe that makes a difference.

    • No, I LOVED this race! It was amazing and is definitely one of my favorites so far. The cons I had were pretty minimal and I was comparing this young race to others I’ve done in the past.

  2. Pingback: Friday Five |

  3. Pingback: High Five for Friday | Ashley {in MKE}

Leave a Reply

