OOTD: Tribal & a Maxi

Yup, you get two posts from me today.  Lucky you! 🙂

 

I was tired this morning.  Like, I wish I could sleep a couple of more hours tired.  While I feel way more confident in my teaching abilities this year, I feel like I’m drowning just a little bit in trying to get more used to the routine.  What this means is that tired Ashley = comfortable outfits.  I finally hopped on the maxi dress/skirt trend.  I always avoided it because I wasn’t tall, but I’ve definitely been missing out.


tribal&maxi2

Maxi Dress {Modcloth} | Scarf {Souvenir from Lyon, France} | Caridgan {Target} | Belt {From this skirt} | Sandals {Target}

tribal&maxi1

And the winner of the Lindi’s Delicate Edge Giveaway is…

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 6.41.22 AM

Congrats!  Check your email within the next 48 hours to send me your address!

 Thanks to all you participated.  It’s fun giving and getting some blogger/reader love.

I write a lot about super happy things on here, but I would hate for you all to think my life is sunshine and roses (although it is pretty damn good).  There has been something heavy weighing on my mind lately.  I’ve gotten a couple (which is frankly, a couple too many) comments about how “skinny” I am. While it would flatter most people, it actually really bothers me.   For one, I don’t see myself that way (body image issues, much?) and two, I work my ass off for it.  I run a lot to prep for races and eat pretty healthy.  Yeah, I eat crap every once in a while, but I physically feel better when I don’t.  Well, that and I still immediately equate what I eat to miles run (which is really unhealthy).

Now, before you go all “BOO HOO!  People are commenting on how good you look.  You POOR thing.”  I’m not so much complaining about that, I’m more concerned about how women focus on each others bodies (myself included).  Can’t we all just love each other (and ourselves for who we are)?

What are your thoughts?

 

8 thoughts on “OOTD: Tribal & a Maxi

  1. Agreed, lady! Plus, skinny can really be such a relative term (unless we’re talking rail thin here), and to some people, it really is offensive. I completely understand. So, with that being said, you look SO good and healthy! Anyone who follows you knows you exercize like crazy (thanks for the motivation!) and work extremely hard with your gluten-free diet. I’m proud of you for reaching your goals 🙂

    Oh, and I’m glad you hopped on the maxi train. Short or tall, they’re wonderful.

  2. First, let me say that I love this outfit and will be copying it. Secondly, I am always offended when someone comments in my weight. It makes me super uncomfortable, even when it is in the form of a compliment. It stems from my own body image issue, but when someone says “you look skinny” or “you’ve lost weight, all I hear is “i thought you were fat before.” I always stick to “you look great” if I absolutely must comment on someone’s appearance.

  3. I always hated those type of comments growing up. IMHO it can FEEL the same as calling out someone for being overweight. You look great though! And I love how you tied that scarf.

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more. I actually have a blog post planned about that. People are always saying, “Girl, you need to eat a cheeseburger.” GRRR… By telling you that you’re too thin or “need to eat a cheeseburger,” they’re essentially telling you that something is wrong with you. It’s not right.

Leave a Reply

