Weekly Workouts – 08.12-08.18 #linkup

If I had to summarize this week’s workouts in one word, it would be “better”.

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 4.39.38 PM

Monday-Thursday: Runs with the cross country team.  Short-ish and slow.  Which ended up being just what I needed.

Friday – Rest day due to first day of work/practice being during that same time.

Saturday – 8.24 mile long run that went pretty well!  Overall, my pace was at 8:27 which is perfect considering how my runs have gone as of late.

Sunday – 75 minutes of Hot Power Yoga.  I’m really going to miss this instructor when she moves.  The class was packed, so I’d say it’s safe to say that everyone else will miss her too!

I have some kind of bad news.  For me, at least.  While we were in France, I was running in shoes that were dying.  They were the best pair I had and I didn’t really want to drop $100+ on new runnies before the trip.  Especially when I thought I was going to make it until we returned to the US.  Unfortunately, they died with about 3 weeks to go.  And I was stuck with old shoes and absolutely not willing to not run.  I’m 99% certain that because of this, I developed Pes Anserine Bursitis.  It’s pain that occurs after 5-ish miles on the medial side of my left knee – but it’s NOT in the joint area.  I’m really upset about this and have tried to ice & ibuprofen as much as possible.  It’s getting better (especially with new shoes!).  But, I’m going to baby my during-the-week runs (which is convenient due to cross country) and then run strong on the long runs.

The funny thing is that I was pretty certain I had an MCL or meniscus tear and was completely and totally panicked.  At my coaching class last weekend, I decided to woman up and ask the trainer that was overseeing our class and he mentioned the bursitis issue.  Yes!  It’s not a tear!  But, I still have to be really careful.

In terms of workouts this week, middle school practice officially starts so my mileage will be pretty low.  Here’s my goals for this upcoming week:

Monday – Friday –  Run with cross-country team.  Get in as much mileage as possible.

Saturday – Long run of 10 miles.  Then, wedding celebration of close friends!

Sunday – Hot Power Yoga

How was your week?  Have you ever had an injury that you tried to treat and still exercise?  I am a huge advocate of rest and healing, especially if it’s in the joint areas.  I’m not sure how to proceed if it’s muscular – probably the same, right?

Coffee & macarons

6 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts – 08.12-08.18 #linkup

  1. This is confirmation that I absolutely CANNOT run on my shoes anymore. I’ve been needing new ones for a few weeks, and I just need to bite the cash bullet and do it. Hope you get to feeling better soon!

  2. Running injuries are so frustrating! The only “good” thing about it is that not being able to run makes me want to run even more…which can result in long-term motivation gains. But overall, being injured just sucks. Hope you’re back to normal soon!

  3. Sounds like a nasty knee situation- fingers crossed it heals up soon. Although painful joints aside, I find these such a inspiration to actually get out and move my body, even if my runs are (so. much.) shorter than yours!

Leave a Reply

