August Goals

Oops!  I guess I took a little blog-vacay there.  Totally unintentional, but things have been CRAY around here.  After travelling, literally, around the world, we moved our stuff out of storage and into our new house within 48 hours of landing.  Then, the class to earn my coaching authorization started the next day and lasts two weekends.  Thank goodness for my husband or else everything would still be in boxes.  He?  Is the best.

 

Anywho.  I did great in July’s goals…let’s recap them, shall we?

July2013Goals

 

  1. We partied it up (responsibly) in Scotland and did something adventurous every.single.day.  Our activities were city, beach, and hiking based.  Not bad for a three day vacation!
  2. Bought and I LOVE IT.
  3. We used our Euros wisely in Paris and ate out twice – once at Cafe Constant by the Eiffel Tower and the second at Helmut Newcake.  We ate in quite a bit, but it was worth the two meals we had out.
  4. This one was kind of a fail.  I meant to take my phone or little camera, but the threat of pickpocketing was too much.  So, no cameras or photos for a lot of stuff.  We also missed the end of the Tour.  This is only slightly tragic.
  5. Also a fail.  Didn’t quite make it out there for this one.

3.5/5 isn’t bad for my first month of goal-setting especially since we were in a foreign country and travelled back to the US!

 

August, on the other hand, is going to be crazy busy with coaching class, XC camp, reporting to work and meeting my new group of 9th graders.  Here are my goals for this month:

august2013goals

 

  1. I bought an absolutely gorgeous leather Longchamp bag when we were in France two years ago and it has sat, unused in the dust cover, 98% of the time since.  My justification for this has been, “But it’s too nice to use”.  What?!  Gretchen Rubin calls using nice things “spending out”.  So, while I have a really specific goal of using the bag all.the.time – the more general goal is to use my stuff and not let it sit.
  2. I realized today in class that I need to not be like a 9th grader and wait until the last minute for my coaching homework.  I will be working on my first assignment when I finish this post!
  3. At the end of last school year, I was approached by an administrator to take over PLC facilitator duties for my team & grade-level department.  I’m really nervous as I’m the youngest teacher on my team and I’m going to be in charge of organizing/facilitating meetings.  Same goes for my grade-level department (although I finally have veteran status there!).  I want to do the best job I can not only for me, but for my fellow staff and most importantly, the students.
  4. To be honest, I get overwhelmed easily.  I’m going to take steps to avoid getting overwhelmed with all the things for this next start of the school year (coaching for the first time, PLC facilitator duties, teaching, social life, staying active).
  5. July was a “meh” month for training.  My shoes were super worn out, so not only was running painful, but I was at serious risk for injury.  My new shoes were waiting for me at our new home and they were the exact solution I needed.  I’m really looking forward to running with the XC team and establishing a routine here at home!

 

Phew.  That was a novel of a post.

 

What are some of your goals for this month?

2 thoughts on “August Goals

  1. I have a theory on using my nice things… it’s basically this, “The more you use it, the more you can justify the purchase.” For instance, I have used my crazy expensive diaper bag every single day since Ella was born. Because of that, it is now at less than a dollar per day status. That makes it super justifiable to my husband. I use this strategy on all sorts of things – designer jeans, watches, purses, shoes. He really can’t argue with math!

    Also, good luck on getting back into season! We just finished up cheer camp last week & I’ll be back on the mat soon. Can’t wait to start competing again!

Leave a Reply

