Weekly Workouts – 07.15-07.21

Hello hello!  Week 4 of training for the Brewers Mini went fairly well.  Let’s break it down…

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.50.51 PM

Monday – 4.14 mile run around the Champs de Mars park and the Eiffel Tower.  It was really cool to do this one solo and take in the sights around the apartment we are renting for our stay in Paris.

parisrunviews

Tuesday – 3.83 mile run with the husband.  I had zero desire to do this run, but I really wanted to run with my husband around the most romantic place on Earth.  We took the same route as I had the day before (but remembered to turn at the correct place).  It was pretty cool seeing his face as we approached the Eiffel Tower.

Wednesday – We went to the Musee de l’Armee (Hotel des Invalides) in Paris.  We walked a TON so I’m totally considering this as a cross training day.  And, it was bloody hot out to boot.  Did you know the French don’t believe in AC?  Fabulous.

Thursday – C was in charge of this route.  And he found a non-stop trail not too far from our apartment.  We did an out and back so we wouldn’t get lost and discovered a gorgeous forest-like area with tons of trails.

Friday – Rest.  Glorious rest.

Saturday – C and I ran in the Bois de Boulogne which is a wooded, trail area just north-ish of our apartment.  The trees and shade were just what we needed to complete our long runs (8.5 for her, just shy of 10 for him).  On Friday night, we realized we needed fuel for our run.  Based on what we found, I’d say we did a rather good job in a pinch…

gummies

Haribo gummy bears saran wrapped to a coconut water. Totally worked.

Sunday – Yesterday, we took a train to have a (very French) lunch at the home of a professor in Paris who is the friend/colleague of C’s advisors.  It was a really interesting experience and I got to practice my French for hours with the professor, his wife and two grand-daughters (one of whom was also gluten-free…win!).

This upcoming week…

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.49.46 PM

I’m really looking forward to this particular 10-miler not only because of the scenery, but also it’s my first 10 miler (of a few) for this plan.  I missed the first one by being on “vacation” in Scotland, so I’m anxious to put this one to work.

In other news, my running shoes are definitely on their last legs.  I’ve started to have knee tinges (not quite pain) and I’m looking forward to tossing this pair before we leave.  During my marathon, I went through three pairs of Mizuno Wave Rider 15’s.  I’m thinking about the 16’s, but I’m hoping my awesome readers will have some advice for me!  What do you run in?  Before you say to go to a running store, here’s the deal – I’m planning on buying them off of Amazon (like I’ve done for the past 6 pairs…so much cheaper) and having them sent to my in-laws before we get back from Europe (we are making a pit stop there before returning home).

How was your training?  Link up with Jen and I and let me know what shoes you use in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts – 07.15-07.21

  1. Hey there! Thanks for letting me know about your Monday link-up! Excited to join!

    What an amazing opportunity to explore Paris! It sounds amazing! I love your gummy bear and coconut water idea. I’ve recently discovered I REALLY love coconut water as a lower sugar/more natural alternative to sports drinks. I’ve never tried Mizunos but have heard good things. I hope you find a good pair that alleviates the knee issues. 🙂

  2. I’ve never even considered buying shoes off Amazon! Great idea! Although I get rewards back at the store I buy from, and I think I’ll get a free pair after this next one. My last two pairs (the ones I’m currently wearing and the ones before that) were Brooks Adrenaline GTS (I think that’s what they’re called). I love them!

  3. I am madly in love with my Brooks PureConnect 2’s. I just bought my 2nd pair and won’t ever look back. They are minimalist running shoes but after you break them in and adjust, they are super comfortable.

Leave a Reply

