July 2013 Goals

I am a Type-A planner.  I am the epitome of a list-maker.  It used to be so I could feel organized.  Now it’s so I remember to actually do it.  Making mental notes doesn’t cut it anymore. (Wow, do I feel old…).  I’m also a firm believer in goal setting.  So much so that I almost squealed in delight when my building adopted SMART goals this past school year.  So, without further ado…

July2013Goals

A bit more explanation:

  1. Scotland is our “vacation within our vacation”.  C is presenting a paper at a conference and then we are taking the rest of the week to do fun stuff.  There are no archives to visit so C doesn’t have to work!  I’ve heard great things about the town we’ll be spending the most time in, so we’ll definitely explore Edinburgh a lot as well as take a train to the coast to do a bit of hiking.
  2. Two years ago, while we were in Lyon, I bought the most beautiful leather Longchamp handbag.  I bought (almost) nothing else that entire trip so I could afford that bag.  I’ve probably used it less than 20 times since which is a shame.  I’m almost scared to use it because it is so nice!  (The first goal, when we return state-side is to begin using that bag more, by the way).  Anyways, since I was a student at Marquette, I lusted over the nylong Longchamp Le Pilage bags.  While doing some research the other day, it turns out they are cheaper in Europe even with the conversion rate by almost $50!  I will most definitely be doing some bag purging when we return, but it will be worth it for my new-soon-to-be school bag.  (But, wait, didn’t you just purchase that huge Lands End canvas bag?  Yes, that will become our grocery store bag.  Duh.)
  3. It turns out that there are many certified gluten-free restaurants in Paris.  We’ve been saving tons of money by eating in while in Auch so we could go out to eat more in Scotland and Paris.  Even C is excited about the gluten-free restaurants because he knows that everything will be safe for me to eat and enjoy!
  4. By some stroke of luck, we’ll be in Paris at the end of the Tour de France.  Enough said, right?
  5. To be honest, I’m not the most adventurous person.  If I can achieve going to a foreign cafe, ordering with a small amount of confidence and leisurely reading a book on our kindle, that will be one of my most fantastic accomplishments!

As I was making this list, I realized how unique it is.  I will probably never be able to create such a list again!  Wow.


What are your goals for this month?

Would you be interested in doing a monthly link-up?

2 thoughts on “July 2013 Goals

  1. What an awesome idea to do a monthly goal list. I always have generic things I want to achieve so actually pinpointing particular ones would hold me more accountable and more likely to achieve them.
    Just a couple of points if you’re headed to Edinburgh if say check out Royal yacht Brittania the Queen’s now retired yacht which gives you a real insight into the lives of the royal family and also St Mary’s Close – a hidden underground street – way cooler than it sounds.
    As for gluten free eating a lot of the pasta/pizza chains have gf menus – try Zizzi’s, pizza express and carluccios – my cousins are gf and love all the places as plenty of options and delicious food.
    Enjoy
    Lau xx

  2. In response to #5. Last year I was in Spain, and having only learned some Spanish in high school, I was very terrified to order something on my own. However, I was left with no choice to do so on my first day there- and even though I fumbled through a lot of it and answered questions incorrectly, it was incredibly liberating! You can do it, and you will be so glad you did!
    Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

