It’s officially racing season!

And I couldn’t be more excited!

After the marathon in April, I had racing fever worse than ever.  With my feet propped up and ice packs on my joints, I surfed the web to find fall half-marathons that were in the Midwest that I would enjoy doing.  While I had originally wanted to do 3 races, I had to make the tough decision to not register for the Chicago Half-Marathon.  Our weekends this fall are packed (rough, I know) and with the amount of travel we’re doing, we needed to not go anywhere that weekend.  While I’m sad, there’s (a) always next year and (b) I’m still signed up for two races!

The first…the Milwaukee Brewers Mini-Marathon!

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 9.20.34 AM

I am SO excited about this race.  As bummed as I am to not be able to run Chicago (my hometown), Milwaukee is my most favorite city in the US.  In college, I lived down the street from Miller Park and the race goes behind the Marquette campus.  How sweet is that?!  Included in the race price is an after-race party and a spring 2014 ticket to a Brewer’s game (my favorite team!).  I registered for this race yesterday (oops) and realized that if wanted to have a tapering period, my training plan starts, um, tomorrow.  Here it is:

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 9.18.14 AM

Yes, I have a goal of 1:47.  My last half-marathon (Des Moines 2012) was a 1:48:45.  My plan is to do some major speed work and actually cross train this time around.  I’m also incorporating more long runs to build endurance.  Also, do you like my color-coding?  The grey boxes are day’s we’re traveling across borders and going home, the yellow are the first day of school and the first day I don’t have school and the orange are days that my cross-country athletes have a meet.

The second race is…the Madison Half-Marathon!

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 9.20.14 AM

This race is near to my heart as it was my first half-marathon in the spring of 2012.  I’m so happy that they decided to have a second race season in Madison because running through that town is awesome.  It’s the same course as when I first ran it so I’m looking forward to seeing what my time will be for Round 2.  C is running his second full marathon that day, so that makes it extra special.  He starts training in a couple of weeks.

With the amount of money we’ve spent on race fees in the past five days, C and I were talking about why we race.  In essence, we race for ourselves. Training gives us an outlet from everyday life.  This fall brings about a lot of (very) new things for both of us… C will begin analyzing the documents he’s been researching here in France and begin writing his dissertation.  I have a new position as a middle school cross country coach and am the PLC facilitator for my team and my grade-level department.  In addition to two new associate principals, I have a feeling that this fall will be a little, um, busy.  But with races and mini-vacations to take (to get to those races), I know we won’t be lacking in time spent together!

Why do you race? Are you signed up for anything this fall?  When do you start training?

2 thoughts on “It’s officially racing season!

    • Thanks Mehgan! Milwaukee is probably one of the coolest cities ever – tied with Chicago IMO. Which may be a bit blasphemous, haha.

Leave a Reply

