Identity Crisis

I’ve been struggling with this for a while.

 

I love blogging.

And, I love running.

 

But I feel like I’m so much more than a running blogger (maybe?) and this has caused a little rut.  And I feel as if I’ve “niched” myself with my current blog title.  With that, I’ve been aching for a change in blog name.  Something a little more classic.  More all-encompassing.  More everlasting.  More ME.  (Am not so much the prepster, as much as I love the idea of it.)

 

As a gal in her mid-20’s, I still am figuring out who I am, what I like (and don’t like for that matter).  I would like to use this blog to explore growing up.

 

Growing up is an overarching concept that includes healthy living, relationships, self-care, fitness, running, food, and having fun as a “kidless, petless renter”.

 

So, I’m seriously considering making a change.  I have LOADS of ideas for new content and I’m looking forward to sharing them with you soon.

 

But, how soon for a name change?  Have any of y’all ever done it?  Did it help?  Hurt?  

How did you come up with your new name?

Any and all advice and guidance is appreciated!

signature2

8 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

  1. I used to focus soley on health posts and my weight loss journey, and eventually I needed to break out of that category and switch to a blog that covered everything else, like our adoption journey, house and local related posts – so I switched relatively seamlessly. I I’m sure I lost a few people along the way, but I imagine I would have lost a few whether I had transitioned or not. By switching it allowed me to stop feeling I had to fit into a category and use my blog as I intended it to be, an outlet for myself! I’m sure whatever you do, with the SPA behind you, you’ll transition easily 🙂 I suck at blog names, so I worked with a friend who took what I wanted mine to be about (my journey) and helped me. That’s why there is the {not so} before suddenly.. Is it the best? No, but it works.

    • Oh goodness. This was what I needed to hear! I love the support I can get from my SPA sisters.

      I’ve tried talking to hubby about this but he keeps drawing a blank. I’ll have to recruit some friends or SPA gals to help. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! And I love your blog! I am huge fan that we’re both teachers. 🙂

      xoxo

  2. I say, if you’re going to change you name… RIP OFF THE BANDAID AND DO IT NOW!! 🙂 All of your readers will still love you, we’ve all gone through Identity crisis’ before! We stand behind your decision! 🙂

  3. I really loved seeing this post pop up on my reader because I’m currently struggling with the same idea. You seem a lot further along in knowing what you love blogging about than I am, so I’m sure the right name and idea will come to you soon! Good luck with it all 🙂

  4. I would love to read more from you regardless of the topic. I got some great advice on changing my blog name about doing it sooner rather than later. I’ve been thinking of branching out too but I can’t think of a good blog name. My advice, just do it! 😀

  5. I changed my blog name back in the fall of last year after having one for 2.5 years. I never really “took” to the old name. Now I LOVE my new blog name. It’s totally me. I love your new one too! I know what you mean about putting yourself in a niche. I write about running too, but it isn’t ALL I write about. Now you can feel free to write about anything!

    • Yay! I’m kind of relieved I’m not the only one. I feel so much better about this name and I’ve gotten a ton of positive feedback so it probably was the best choice. Loved your post about Chicago, BTW – I’m from there too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

