Thursday Threads – 05.30

First, a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY to C.  Welcome to the quarter-century club, sweetheart!

 

C is off at a conference in Minnesota, so I have the house to myself until Sunday.  Whenever he’s gone, I always worry about sleeping through the alarm and that I’ll miss work.  Today, surprisingly, I woke up before the alarm (which is SO weird!) and had time to relax before jetting off to school.  After mulling over the things I saw this morning, I picked a (what I think) is a very French outfit.  Only one more week until I get on a plane towards Paris!

ootd530

 

Pink Pashmina | Mall Kiosk in Milwaukee

Black V-Neck Tee | Target

Black Crops | Banana Republic Outlet

Leopard Flats | Target

I am kind of in love with this outfit.  It’s so chic (to me) with a top knot.  And these flats!  They’re so comfortable.  I really want to pack them, but I probably shouldn’t bring 5 pairs of shoes in my pack.  Boo. 😦

So, I kind of tweaked my back on Monday and then got adjusted at a chiropractor yesterday afternoon.  I haven’t felt this good in a while!  I have another appointment next week before we leave.  I chose a chiropractor that has a sports license, so I felt confident in her hands.  I am so fortunate to have insurance to cover this.  After my appointment, I didn’t want to go for a run and mess everything up, so I went on a nice long (4 mile) walk instead and stopped at the library in the middle.  I had a movie on hold (Easy A with Emma Stone…LOVE!) and decided to see if they had any Michael Pollan books on the shelves.  I was in luck!  They had “In Defense of Food” as an audiobook and “An Eater’s Manual” in paperback.  I also picked up this book:

skinnybook

If you don’t like curt language, don’t read this.  It is chock full of information and cuss words (because you couldn’t tell from the title?).  I’m halfway through it (it’s a quick read) and it is so informative.  It’s definitely in the process of changing my viewpoint on some things (i.e.: the meat and dairy industry).

What is your favorite thing to wear to work?

Have you ever read anything that changed your perspective on anything?  I have a few titles that have driven me to become a better person.   How about you?

signature2

 

10 thoughts on “Thursday Threads – 05.30

  1. I read this book a few years ago and I can say it totally opened up my eyes…especially about meat and dairy…I no longer eat red meat at all and dairy has been reduced and is on its way out completely soon…very informative book!

    • I’m feeling the same way. We very rarely eat red meat, but since the husband went to a conference this week, I haven’t touched meat at all. I’m working on the dairy, but I really love fro yo, which is kind of a problem anyways, haha.

  2. You lucky girl on your way to Paris. BTW, it doesn’t matter how you dress, they always know you’re an American before you even open your mouth, not sure how (the tan, maybe?). When I go to Paris, I try not to “look” American, and yet, they know every time.

    Read Eating Animals by Jonathan Fafran Foer. Talk about an eye-opener. Along the lines of Skinny Bitch, but much more in depth and seriously written, you will learn about the factory farm industry and seriously will never want to touch meat or dairy again.

    • Haha, I know I’ll stick out like a sore thumb no matter what, but it’s fun to pretend to be French!

      I will have to look that book up, it sounds really interesting. I’m in the middle of listening to Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food and I’m loving the message it’s sending. It makes so much sense!

    • I LOVE THAT BOOK. That was the first book to change my life this year. I made hubby read it too and then he bought me the sequel for Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

