What shoes should I pack?

I’ve only recently thought of what I’m going to pack for our trip to Europe.  And, of course, the first thought that comes to mind is “what kind of shoes should I bring?”  I’m bringing my running shoes (duh) and some nicer sandals (like in this post).  But, I need some “everyday” shoes that won’t scream AMERICAN.

My qualifications are:

  1. They have to go with lots of different outfits.
  2. They have to be comfortable.
  3. They have to be lightweight (we are backpacking it) and not take up a lot of room.

Here are the contenders…

EuropeShoeCollage

Chuck Taylor Low-Tops | Ash Grey Toms | Sperry Top-Sider Bluefish

When we were in France two years ago, I remember seeing a ton of people wearing Chucks.  I have a pair of black ones that I bought when I was 16 (yup, almost a decade ago!), but I think I would buy white ones for our trip (so they would go with more), but they would get filthy).  Another  issue is that I would have to pack socks which would add volume to my pack.  On another hand, my grey Toms are my go-to shoes.  I love them.  They are so comfortable and they take up so little room.  And, I wouldn’t have to wear socks with them.  The issue with my current Toms is that they are kind of smelly (see: no socks).  So, I would have to clean them up quite a bit before we go, or invest in another pair.  And the third contender are Sperry boat shoes.  I have a pair of Angelfish style Sperry’s and they too are super comfortable, don’t require socks AND they’re waterproof.  For our trip, I would think about buying the Bluefish style because they offer more foot coverage.  In terms of price, the Toms and Chucks are the cheapest.  But, the Sperry’s are the most durable.

What do you think?  What type of shoes should I pack?

signature2

9 thoughts on “What shoes should I pack?

  1. The TOMs….to avoid smelly try ALDO’s terry shoe liners (washable)…they are padded (comfy)…shoes probably need to be 1/2 size larger…in Paris I wore very comfy Ballet flats with the padded terry inner soles…have not seen then anywhere else…I love them…$7.99

  2. I would go with the Sperry’s! Chuck’s have very low shock absorption and aren’t good for all the walking you’re bound to do. And although Tom’s are more comfy, they’re still canvas-based and won’t be of good use if it rains and it’s puddly outside. Good luck!

    http://booniblog.com
    xO

  3. There is something about an American in white tennis shoes, in Europe, that just screams NO! LOL! I would go with the Tom’s with the Top Siders coming in a very close second. Sounds like a fun trip!!! Enjoy!

  4. I have never owned Sperry’s- but everyone else seems to have them! They seem like the best option. Chucks are too flat and don’t have arch support, so I wouldn’t recommend walking around in them all of the time! Toms are also great, but can wear pretty fast. They are small to pack though, so you could rock them too. 🙂 Have so much fun!

  5. I love the Sperry’s but I think you’ll be better off with the TOMs. They looks like they would go with anything you might wear day to day. 🙂

  6. Pingback: June Buys |

Leave a Reply

