On the road again

After a great week of rest, I’m back in the saddle and ready to build my base again for the Chicago Half-Marathon and Brewers Mini-Marathon (haven’t registered yet, but will later this summer!)

Here was my week this past week:

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.20.10 PM

Monday – 2.72 mi run in the morning pre-conference and then a 17.34 mile bike ride in the afternoon.  The weather was too beautiful to pass up another opportunity to be outside.

Tuesday – Hot Vinyasa

Wednesday – Rest Day (it rained)

Thursday – 3.32 mile run after school.  This was the first time in a LONG time that C ran with me.  It was nice to have some company.  He made fun of my iPhone running app when it started talking to me.

Friday – 3.51 mile run.  Went to a Bachelorette party that night and I knew I wasn’t going to just stick with the veggies & hummus I brought a long.  The buffalo chicken dip was to DIE for (especially on cucumber slices!)

Saturday – Slept later than expected and through both yoga classes.  Took it easy, finished my book, and got ready for a cook-out we were having.  Therefore, rest day.

Sunday – Longest run since the race at a solid 4.5 miles.  My fastest split was 8:12 and my slowest was 8:55 when I was climbing a massive hill.  Felt great!  It was a beautiful day – 55 and sunny.

Here’s the plan for next week:

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 8.28.33 PM

I am trying to get into the habit of running 3-4 times a week AND cross-training.  Looking back, I did very little cross-training throughout the 18 weeks of marathon training and I’m wondering if that could have helped.  Hmmm…

Join the party with Jen and I and tell us about your training!

The Preppy Runner



How often to you cross-train and/or run during the week?  When should I start trusting my body to do runs over 4 miles again?

signature2

6 thoughts on “On the road again

  1. You are way more disciplined than me that’s for sure. You are so motivating!! Btw, thank you for your comment on my veggie stuffed peppers, I would’ve replied back via email but you are a “no-reply blogger” maybe just because you are on WordPress. But just letting you know I read it 🙂

    Xoxo,
    Tarole
    onehaolegirl.com

    • Haha, not so much discipline but that I was going NUTS. I have to be active now. It’s crazy to think that I would have been so happy to be stationary only three years ago. Love your blog Tarole!

Leave a Reply

