A little (more) about me.

Some of my favorite bloggers are linking up with Jenni at Story of My Life for her “Blog Everyday in May” challenge.  Count me in.  Today’s challenge is to write ~250 words about yourself…so here goes.

 

I was born in August of 1987 in Chicago, IL.  For the first three years of my life, my parents and I lived in a little yellow house on the southwest side of the city.  When I was four, we moved into a house only 5 blocks away where they still live today.  My one and only sibling (brother) came around when I was 8.5.  Life as the only child was definitely over and the major attitude & sass began.  From 4th grade through high school graduation, I went to the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools.  Instead of heading off to the Ivy Leagues or west coast, I went to college at Marquette University (GO GOLDEN EAGLES!) and joined Sigma Kappa as a junior.

At the 2008 Sigma Kappa National Convention with the Two-Star Chapter Award (a huge deal).

At the 2008 Sigma Kappa National Convention with the Two-Star Chapter Award (a huge deal).  Yes, that is me.

When I was in my (first) senior year, I met this really cute guy at work.  We started hanging out.  And I really liked him.  So, we both broke up with our significant others and started dating shortly after.  When he was a senior (and I was a super senior), he was accepted into grad school.  In Iowa.  The city girl in me pouted.  Off to the corn fields!

Me and one of my bff's at graduation.

Me and one of my bff’s at graduation. (May 2010)

Luckily, my degree was in science education and even more luckily, I got a job 30 minutes north of where he went (and still attends).  After a super lazy summer, he proposed.  We got married 9 months later and went to France on our honeymoon/master’s thesis research trip.

McFadin-112

(c) Greg Frieden Photography (May 2011)

After (almost) two years of marriage, we are now planning another European adventure!

lyon

In Lyon, France (Summer 2011)

 

5 thoughts on “A little (more) about me.

Leave a Reply

