I am a runner.

Yesterday’s tragic events at the 117th Boston Marathon have my heart hurting.  I am deeply saddened and very angry at the individuals who did this.  This only makes me want to kick serious butt at the Illinois Marathon and then train my heart out for a Boston Qualifier.  May we all find some inspiration in this horrible tragedy.

 

Last night, after processing a lot of the news, I realized how amazing the running community really is…it inspired me to write a poem (which I haven’t done in a long time) and want to share with you.  It’s not Pulitzer-worthy, but I’m sure a lot of you will know exactly what I mean.

IAmARunnerPoem

 

Run a few minutes or miles for Boston today.  Run for the people who couldn’t finish.  Run for the community.  Run for YOU.  Because YOU are worth it.

signature2

10 thoughts on “I am a runner.

  1. My heart hurts too. I’ll be running the OKC marathon in two weeks, which is a race created to remember the 168 victims of the 1995 Oklahoma City bombing. Now we will all be running for Boston as well.

    • The race you’re in sounds amazing! I think we’ve all dedicated our runs this week (and for forever) to Boston. Runners rock.

  2. It took me a while to process it as well. It’s such a shame that someone would do that to anyone, but to target a group of runners and their friends and families…that’s just…awful. This whole thing just brings back a lot of memories of Sandy Hook.

    • Yeah, I’m still in disbelief. I’m very pleased with the efficiency of the Boston PD and FBI. It brought back memories of Newtown for me as well. The two places where I feel the most safe have a tarnished image now which is very heartbreaking for me.

Leave a Reply

