GF/DF Chicken Dumpling Soup

#GlutenFree #DairyFree #Chicken & #Dumpling #Soup via The Preppy Runner

Growing up, I could eat soup no matter what the weather (the same goes for ice cream too, btw).  But, for some weird and unexplainable reason, I hated chicken and dumpling soup.  I remember the first time I was exposed to it.  I was in early grade school and we were at my mom’s friends’ house.  She was an older woman (and I mean, like 70 years old) and she was explaining how she made it and I was repulsed.  You put RAW dough in broth?  GROSS!

gfchickcumplingclose

Luckily for me, I figured out how awesome it was pre-gluten free.  And since I live in my own gluten-free bubble now, I finally figured out a recipe that even C went for seconds on.  I mean, how could you not like dough balls slathered in gravy surrounded by juicy pieces of chicken and the comforting vegetables of onions, carrots and celery?  Sheesh!

Gluten Free (and Dairy Free!) Chicken Dumpling Soup (Adapted from The Gracious Pantry and Betty Crocker)

Serves 6-ish

Broth Ingredients:

  • One 32oz box + one 14oz can of chicken broth
  • 1 Tblsp garlic powder
  • 1 Tblsp marjoram
  • 0.5-1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • ~1.25 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
  • 2-3 Tblsp olive oil
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced into rounds
  • 3 large stalks of celery, sliced into half-moons
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped roughly

Dumpling Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup GF Bisquick
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 Tablsp butter, melted

Directions:

  • In large soup pot, combine broth and spices and bring to a boil.
  • While waiting for broth to boil, saute veggies in olive oil until onions are translucent and cut chicken.
  • Then, mix all the dumpling ingredients into one bowl.
  • When broth is boiling, dump veggies and raw chicken into pot and let boil for 2 minutes.
  • After 2 minutes, put heaping tablespoons worth of dumpling batter into the boiling broth.
  • Cover and boil for 10-11 minutes.  This will cook both the chicken and the dumplings.  And, the dough will thicken up the broth nicely too!
  • Serve with gluten free rolls (I used Schar tonight, but am dying to sample the Udi’s frozen dinner rolls soon!)

In other news, I’m not sure when I moved to Alaska.  It’s seriously still below freezing!  This is getting exhausting, and running in the cold is getting more and more annoying.  But I’m kind of excited because that means I can still serve dishes like this!

What’s your favorite comfort food?

signature2

One thought on “GF/DF Chicken Dumpling Soup

  1. Pingback: Sausage Potato Soup |

Leave a Reply

