GF Triple Chocolate Cookies

We had our third snow day today of the school year.  This is the most snow days I’ve ever had in my entire life.  I had my first snow day in college, true story.  My grade school and high school were affiliated with a local university and we were on campus.  So, we had school every.day.  It was major news when the school shut down for a snow day two years ago.  All of the alumni were shocked.  Anyways…

Snow days call for cookies and soup.  And, I came up with an awesome recipe (with a cake mix base!) just for the occasion.

GF Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies via The Preppy Runner


Ingredients:

3choccookieingredients

One box gluten-free chocolate cake mix
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, melted (not pictured)
3 large eggs
3/4 cup milk chocolate chips
3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Combine cake mix, butter, and eggs.  I used my stand mixer with the flat paddle attachment.

Mixingcookiedough

  • Carefully fold in chocolate chips.
  • Refrigerate for at least one hour (this will make the dough easier to handle).
  • About 20 minutes before you’d like to start baking, pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Roll a heaping tablespoon of cookie dough for each cookie.  I could fit 13 on a sheet. The dough is extremely sticky!
  • Bake for 9 minutes.  Let cool on sheet for 4-5 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack and cool completely.
  • Makes 30 cookies.

That takes care of the cookies, but what about the soup?  We’ll be having leftovers of this tonight and you can find the recipe here.

LoadedBPSoup

The modifications I made were…I added 1/2 cup more chicken stock and only used 2 cups heavy whipping cream and used GF flour.

Do you live somewhere where there’s snow?  What’s your ideal snow day?

signature2

2 thoughts on “GF Triple Chocolate Cookies

  1. Yum. Used that mix today used less water and….WOW the cupcakes were/are really fluffy! She frosted with white frosting. I had the Snow Day Bakery here.

  2. I remember not getting snow days and having to commute across the city. Even my college didn’t give snow days (and graduate school doesn’t even give me weekends!) Still, those cookies look like they could totally get me through this weekend of work.

Leave a Reply

