GF Sprite Biscuits

You know…for someone who cannot eat gluten, I have a major affinity for carbs.

gfspritebiscuits1

Pizza, pasta, cookies, cupcakes, cake (totally different) and bread.  Glorious, glorious bread.  So, when I saw a biscuit recipe on Pinterest that had four (4!) ingredients and was made with Bisquick, I felt the overwhelming need to make it gluten free.  Tonight.  For dinner.

gfspritebiscuits3

GF Sprite Biscuits (Adapted from Plain Chicken)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups GF Bisquick
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup Sprite
  • 1/4 cup (half stick) butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450
  2. Cut sour cream into bisquick
  3. Add sprite, mix well
  4. Spread out on Bisquick-ed surface.  Pat down to about 1/2 inch thickness and cut into squares (I made six huge squares).
  5. Put melted butter in an 8×8 square glass pan.
  6. Bake for 25-28 minutes – until golden brown.

C and I enjoyed this pre-dinner with Cinnamon Sugar butter.  Fairly easy to make and so delicious!  Enjoy this soon!

*Update (02/01/13)!  The leftover dough holds fairly well in the fridge.  I made a second batch of biscuits the next evening, but the dough was much stickier than previously.  I did not cut it into squares and instead put the whole mess in the pan and made one huge biscuit.  It cut easily when i took it out of the oven and was still delicious.

signature2

4 thoughts on “GF Sprite Biscuits

  1. I’m such a carbaholic too! I need some sort of bread product with every meal… And I couldn’t even live without cookies or muffins or cupcakes or chocolate cake! Your biscuits look great, and I’d probably eat at least three. :]

    • Ahh! I always forget to put that info. Thanks for reminding me! I made six really big squares in an 8×8 pan and I still have dough left over. The dough (pre-baking) was about a 0.5 inch thick.

Leave a Reply

