That Time I Ran 12mi on a Treadmill

Or, Marathon Training Recap – Week 5


I have a big confession to make.  I have yet to follow my training plan the way it’s written.  Seriously.  I mean, I know that being flexible is a good thing, but I have this weird guilt thing when I don’t run when I’m “supposed” to and then I need to make up mileage and miss fun stuff.  Poop.  So next week, I am vowing…nay…promising to follow my training plan exactly so that I can go to F.A.S this week!

What I was supposed to do:

1.21-1.27 Rest 3 m run 6 m run 3 m run Rest 12 Cross 24

What actually happened:

training1.27

I feel as if runners can talk their way into or out of anything.  This past week, my legs felt tired and heavy.  And, my hamstrings felt kind of tight.  So, in my mind, that totally justifies not running on Monday or Tuesday, right?  Nope.  Probably not.

This week’s long run was moved inside due to Winter Storm Luna.  Miss Luna decided to grace the midwest with freezing rain, so there was (I think) a half-inch of ice all over the sidewalks and trails.  The streets were OK, so I did 12 miles on a treadmill at the gym.

12mitm

This was rough.

It took me four (!!) tries to get to 12 miles.  It was harder than I thought it was going to be.  Here are some things I learned about running long distances indoors:

  1. You will dehydrate much faster than outside.
  2. Break up the run into smaller, more manageable chunks.
  3. Don’t go your regular 4-6mi pace (see the 8:37 average?  Silly Ashley…)
  4. Bring fuel.  I looked pretty funny with Gatorade and Swedish Fish, but I was happy I had it.

All in all, I’m really pumped I got the mileage in.  It was hard, but it was worth it.  Definitely looking forward to tomorrow’s rest day.

Have you ever done long distances on a treadmill?  What’s the farthest you’ll go?  Tell me in the comments!

signature2

 

PS: Linked up with Meghan, Kat, and Genna!

9 thoughts on “That Time I Ran 12mi on a Treadmill

    • I use Daily Mile and take screen shots every week. I’ve been on DM for a few years now and I LOVE it. LOVE. It fits my Type A (AA?) personality really nicely as it allows me to map my runs, track my mileage, see my pace and connect with local (and not-so-local) running buddies! I totally recommend you join (it’s free!). My user name is amac0528.

      xoxo

  1. 12 miles on the TM?! You go girl, that is tough! I think the longest I’ve ran on the dreadmill was 5 miles. Ice would be the only thing that would force me to run inside too. Great job on getting it done this week! It is going to be fun to follow along with you since our races are so close!

    • Haha, thanks Allie! I’m pretty proud of myself, but I wouldn’t wish that kind of run indoors on anyone.

      I’m super excited that our plans are so close together! 🙂

  2. Glad to have you link up! I hate the treadmill….the dreadmill…but I’ll use it when I have too…sometimes Florida can be brutal with rain and heat. Kudos to you for finishing and smart job breaking it up! Keep up the awesome job!

    • Thanks Kat! I’m still kind of in shock that it happened, but my quads are letting me know that yes, it definitely did happen. Haha. I love you guys’ link-up party! Thanks so much for being awesome. 🙂

  3. I don’t think I’d run more than 5 on a treadmill. maybe when I get faster, but I’m not sure! thanks for stopping by my blog and for your comment! – Dara

  4. 12 miles on the dreadmill (love that) and the Blackhawks won!! I broke mine into an 8 & a 3 miler. When I got off to fill my water bottle, I was gonna walk to cool down and some guy swiped my machine! I mean, I know I was on it for nearly 2 hours but all of the 5 others treadmills were empty, my tv was still on, I didn’t have a chance to wipe it down & still had some of my energy blocks there!! So I went home instead. It was weird. Learn some treadmill etiquette buddy. Side note, I feel crazy that I’m mentally convincing myself that 12 miles should be a walk in the park. It’s not.

Leave a Reply

