Gluten Free “Funfetti” Cupcakes


Going gluten-free in 2009 meant a lot of really positive things, but it also took out my favorite cake mix flavor and my favorite ice cream flavor – Funfetti.

gffunetticupcake1

A birthday party was not complete until that beautiful cake made out of Pillsbury Funfetti came out onto the table with all of those candles glaring.  It was colorful, it was festive, it.was.perfect.

gffunfetticupcake2

So, imagine my delight when I saw a homemade funfetti cake mix recipe on Pinterest!  I was THIS EXCITED.  Oh, that’ll be so easy, I thought.  I’ll just switch out the regular flour in the recipe for my cup-for-cup substitution flour that I currently have on hand.

Epic.Fail.

The flour I had in my pantry isn’t my go-to mix.  From now on, I will live and die by Better Batter GF All-Purpose Mix.  For reals.

gffunfetticupcake4

But, when I have a baking fail, I only pout for a little bit don’t give up!  I decided to try again but use a cake mix base this time.  Because I will surely not fail this time.

And I didn’t.  Success tastes so.freaking.sweet.

gffunfetticupcake5

Gluten Free Funfetti Cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:

  • Betty Crocker GF White Cake Mix
  • 2/3 cup skim or almond milk (the mix calls for water)
  • 4 eggs (I used one more egg than the box called for)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 stick of butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sprinkles

Cupcake Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit and prepare your cupcake pan with 12 liners. 
  • Combine mix, milk, eggs, vanilla, and butter using an electric mixer.  Beat until all of the liquids are combined.  Your butter might be in small chunks, but this is A-OKAY.
  • Carefully fold in sprinkles so the colors don’t bleed into the mix
  • Divide evenly into liners using 1/4 cup + 1 Tblsp of batter
  • Once cupcakes are in oven, lower oven temperature to 325 degrees fahrenheit
  • Bake for 25 minutes

Frosting Ingredients:

  • 8 oz cream cheese (I used fat free)
  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Frosting directions:

  • Cream together cream cheese, butter and vanilla until smooth.
  • Add 1 cup of powdered sugar at a time.
  • In order to have the best consistency for using a frosting pipe and tip, you should put the frosting in the fridge for 20-ish minutes.

I might be having these for breakfast tomorrow.  I’m totally allowed to carbo load before a 12 mile run, right?

signature2

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free “Funfetti” Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Little Things – v.2 « The Preppy Runner

  2. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog oon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are
    so many options out there that I’m totally confused ..
    Any suggestions? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

