Marathon Training Recap – Weeks 3 & 4


Welp, weeks 3 and 4 of marathon training have been complete and total opposites.

Week 3 was supposed to look like this:

Week 3 1.7-1.13 Rest 3 m run 5 m pace 3 m run Rest 6 Cross 17

What actually happened that week:

Training - Week of 1:7

After getting a cold and then the flu (so unfair!), I was actually really excited that I was able to get my long run in that week. Fortunatey (?), I got sick on the easiest week of the training plan, so it definitely could have been worse.  I’m really tempted to draw a sick face next to the smiley face up there.  I always appreciate being healthy right after being sick.

Week 4’s plan, on the other hand, was a bit more intense:

4 1.14-1.20 Rest 3 m run 6 m pace 3 m run Rest 11 Cross 23

What actually happened:

Training - Week of 1.14

The difference between weeks 3 and 4 are still shocking to me (in a good way).  The short runs are still (only?) supposed to be 3 miles, but the mid-week mid-distance run is starting to increase.  I’ll stay at 6 miles for two more weeks and then it’ll ramp up again.  I’ll be in awe when I have to run 10 miles on a Wednesday afternoon after a full work-day.

ShortsMidJan

Shorts in the middle of January in the Midwest? Wha?!

I also wore this outfit on my long run this week.  Mother Nature is being quite the tease to us here in the midwest and graced us with 40-50 degree weather on Friday and Saturday.  It’s supposed to be a high of 8 degrees tomorrow, so I took full advantage of the nice weather.  It’s not that I don’t love my running tights,  I just really love shorts.  And I still got pretty toasty, which is par for the course when you run 11.25miles at 8:36 pace (not to brag or anything).

Today’s cross-training was 30 minutes on the bike.  This went well, it’s just so mind-numbing when it’s inside.

I can’t believe I’m 2/9th’s of the way done with training!  It seems like it’s going by quickly.  We’ll see how next week’s 12 miler goes.

signature2

PS: I linked up with Little Girl in the Big World this week.

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training Recap – Weeks 3 & 4

  1. Ugh, nothing is worse than being sick! Good for you for getting back out there the next week! Great pace on your 11 miler! I hear ya on the midwest bipolar weather. Saturday was a beautiful 55* day, Tuesday the high is only 18*! What marathon are you training for?

    • Hi there! I’m training for the Illinois Marathon in April. Do you have any races coming up? Don’t be a stranger around these parts! 🙂

  2. So nice you were able to run in shorts in the winter! It looks like your marathon training is going really well. I just ran my first at Disney last weekend. It was hot but really fun. So glad to have found your blog through Kat!

    • Why thank you! I’m so happy you enjoyed the post. The pictures I’ve seen from Disney were fabulous! Don’t be a stranger around these parts.

Leave a Reply

