Gluten Free PB & Snickers Cupakes

Fact: I love to bake.

Fact: I have a thing for sugar.

Fact: I love making other people happy.

When my school decided to form the 9th grade staff into cross-curricular teams, I was pretty pumped.  Not so much for the fact that I would be collaborating and planning a massive cross-curricular project with some great teachers, nor was it because we would all have the same group of 115 students.  No, I was more excited about baking for their birthdays and/or team meetings.  I’ve baked so much that they’ve nicknamed me Betty.  Our social studies teacher’s birthday was this past Friday.  Because our team meeting was on Wednesday, I baked up some of these beauties for him and the rest of our team.

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Snicker Cupcakes

(c) Beaucoup Visages 2012

*Note, you can either go with a cake mix or your from-scratch chocolate cake recipe of choice.  I used what I had in my pantry.*

Ingredients:

  • Jules Gluten Free Cake Mix
  • 2 Cups of sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 3 tablespoons of Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
  • 1/4 cup of Hershey’s Cocoa
  • 1 cup Resees peanut butter chips
  • Frosting of choice (I used store-bought)
  • 24 fun-sized Snicker bars

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Make chocolate cake batter as directed on package or recipe of choice.
  3. Mix in 1 cup of peanut butter chips.
  4. Evenly distribute between 24 lined cupcake slots.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes or until fork comes out clean.
  6. After baking, allow cupcakes to cool no more than 5 minutes in pan, then take out and let cool completely on wire rack.
  7. In the meantime, take your 24 fun-sized Snicker bars, and chop them into quarters.
  8. After the cupcakes are done cooling, frost with frosting of choice, then garnish with Snicker pieces.

I got rave reviews from my team members.  I thought they were pretty good too.  I can tell because the extra 18 in our fridge are disappearing rapidly.  I think C has been eating them for lunch (“They don’t taste gluten free!” he says – SUCCESS.)

In other news, I got my confirmation email from Foodie Penpals today!  I’m so excited to be a part of this – you have NO idea. I get my match on Monday and I’m already planning on what I’m going to put in the box I send!

Also, on Day 3 of 30 days of Thankfulness – I’m thankful for my friendships.  My girlfriends mean the world to me and I’m so happy that they are in my life!  I think you meet everyone for a reason.

Leave a Reply

